http://www.norcalmods.net
Looks like spedmetal is back on the scene!
Can anyone confirm it's him? We've tweeted but I'm not sure if that's him. Looking at the Wii install pics I think it is! If so, welcome back!
|
|
|
|
Would you like to get all the new info from
PSX-Scene in your email each day?
Want to learn more about the team keeping you up to date with the latest scene news?
Read about them now! Check out our Developer bios, too! | ||
|
|
http://www.norcalmods.net
Looks like spedmetal is back on the scene!
Can anyone confirm it's him? We've tweeted but I'm not sure if that's him. Looking at the Wii install pics I think it is! If so, welcome back!
wow glad to see him back again .
If he is, awesome. I originally wanted him to do my HDCombo mod when I found out about it, but when I got it, he'd gone bye-bye. Nothing against ModShopPlace, but since Spedmetal had already done it, I knew I'd be getting experience.
Welcome back to the scene, man.

yeah i also needed him to for some instruction to install my HDCombo he told me some useful info .but after that he'd gone .
but as you said i hope its him .
he had a nice gallery of PS2 Skins .and Install Modchips .
Im not so sure its speedmetal running that site, unless he sold it or teamed up with this site:
http://mercedmods.webs.com/ is now norcalmod.
My guess is he either got out just before those I.C.E raids and quit, or he's connected with that site in someway. But i dont see anything from his old site or anything that looks like his work.....well from what i remember of his work.

yeah i think you are right because we might have seen him overe here
I remember a while back that he 'retired' for the construction industry before the raids.
There's drama to it. Merced Mods is run by someone else and I think is teamed up with the person claiming to be norcalmods.
http://mercedmods.webs.com/
Original Merced Mods. Cool guy (lets call him Tom). This site is old and is now more of a shell/redirect.
http://www.mercedmods.com (redirects to http://www.4ics.net/)
Fake Merced Mods. This other dude (lets call him Bob), stole the domain MercedMods from Tom. Tom's pissed.
few months or years pass..
I get a tweet from NorcalMods (lets call him Bill). After tweeting back and forth with him and Tom, it seems they met at a party once. He says hes a younger guy. So I ask Bill (<-CORRECTED) a few questions only a PS2 modder would know like "what do you have to do to certain PS2 versions and why. what do you call it etc.". His answers were detailed enough (for being out of the scene for a while).
Anyway what happened was, Bill started following Tom on twitter and Tom freaked out and took his website down. what happened after that (They joined forces?) I'm not sure of. That's when I see this site:
http://www.norcalmods.net which mercedmods.webs.com redirects to. On the "webs" site you also see a redirect to 4-ics.net. http://4-ics.net is a Fake of http://4ics.net. They gave Bob a taste of his own medicine!
Take a look at some the pics on norcalmods.net, particularly the Wii D2C modchip installations. Beautiful wire highways and flawless connections to IC legs. It's gotta be him![]()
Last edited by Robochicken; 01-20-2010 at 11:26 PM.
It is a possibility its him, as that Wii install does look good enough to be one of his, but he obviously wants to remain annonymous if it is him, as we havent heard a peep since the NorcalMods we knew went offline.
I was kinda expecting him to at least PM one of us here with some news to what happened, but nothing. He's an exellent modder and i hope things are working out ok for him...where ever he is.

no its not the same guy, because i personally know the old owner of norcal. If this guy (Tom) had any sense he wouldn't have had his donaim snatched now would he? sounds like an epic fail on his part..
| « Previous Thread | Next Thread » |